Heat loss and insulation

Relax in southern comfort on the east bank of the Mississippi. You're just around the corner from Beale Street and Sun Records. Watch the ducks, throw back a few and tell us what's on your mind.
JR.

Heat loss and insulation

Post by JR. »

As I have often mentioned reducing heat loss with better insulation can reduce energy consumption in heating applications.

My latest experiment related to my coffee roaster. I have been roasting coffee for 15-20 years .

I use a premium drum roaster called a hottop because it is metal and gets hot. The beans get up to 420'F while roasting so the roaster has guards to prevent accidentally touching the hot top in use.

I have wedged some loose fiberglass insulation up into the air space behind the hand guards and it is making a definite difference in shorter roast times.

This is not automatically good if it alters the roast profile, and causing the outside of the roaster to rise to higher temperatures might affect the innards. In hindsight I will remove the insulation from the rear few inches where the drum stops and the motor is... the drum only goes back as far as that black handle on the top where the chute is for feeding green beans into the drum. Running the motor hotter would not be good. :oops:

An experiment still in process.

JR
Cancel the "cancel culture", do not support mob hatred.
JR.

Re: Heat loss and insulation

Post by JR. »

hottop.JPG
hottop.JPG (59.49 KiB) Viewed 10608 times
Not a great picture because of very low light level but you can see the loose insulation under front half of the hand guard... I left the back half open so motor and other innards don't get too much hotter.

You can see a fresh roast (Brazilian) in the cooling tray... With the insulation the roast now takes a few minutes less than before. I'll need to see if that changes the coffee flavor, while this is my first time roasting this particular Brazilian green bean so I do not have a reference to compare it to.

JR